Disney Cruise Line

Disney Cruise Line
Itineraries/Ports  |   Staterooms  |   Dining  |   Activities

Price Your Dream Vacation:

Disney Cruise Line

Disney Cruise Line is an American cruise line company owned by The Walt Disney Company and headquartered in Celebration, Florida. The business is run by President Karl Holz as part of the Walt Disney Parks and Resorts division. Disney Cruise Line operates the Disney Cruise Line Terminal, which homeports both ships.

Disney Cruise Line operates two ships, the Disney Magic and the Disney Wonder, along with Castaway Cay, a private island in the Bahamas designed as an exclusive port of call for Disney’s ships.

The Disney Magic began operation July 30, 1998. The Disney Wonder began operation August 15, 1999. The ships each contain 875 staterooms and are virtually identical in their design, with a few variations in interior design, restaurants and entertainment venues. Both contain areas designed exclusively for various age groups, including toddlers, young kids, teens, and adults.

They are the first in the industry to be designed and built from the keel up as family cruise liners, with the goal of accommodating parents and children. Unlike most ships of their type, they do not include casinos. Disney ships also feature horns which play the opening seven-note theme When You Wish Upon a Star from Disney’s Pinocchio, in addition to the traditional horn.

Disney Cruise Line was created in 1995 when the company commissioned its two ships at Fincantieri in Italy, ending an arrangement with Premier Cruise Line for the maritime segment of its vacation packages. Disney had contracted Premier Cruise Line to provide cruise vacations in the 1980s, also sailing from Port Canaveral. The ships were similarly marketed as family vacations and featured costumed Disney Characters.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *